Hunt Of The Red Vikings

50RedVikings.jpg

I am the founder of the Red Vikings.

I’m a reindeer hunter, Eric Skutkonung of Greenland. Born in 1415, the first generation of my family conceived and raised in the new world, I’m well exposed to civilized life before founding a separate society at the age of thirty-five.

My father, Sinogoth, sends me from Greenland to Europe for my education at the age of twelve in 1427. Because of father’s family connections, I end up in France as an apprentice to the best metallurgists of the day.

Two years later I meet a renown girl from Eastern France, Jeanne Darc. France is engaged in a terrible war that father had been unaware of back home. I’m just fifteen, and under good protection when the acclaimed young female warrior comes through town between battles.

Like everyone in war-weary France, I know that Jeanne Darc believes she’s been called upon by God to lead France to victory. She’s two years my senior and a handsome, charismatic girl who takes a liking to me as I water her horse that day.

    The power Jeanne Darc commands is mystifying, and the respect she cannot be denied is baffling. Here is a young girl, bearing sword and shield, fiercely and passionately leading the charge on horse against the deadliest enemy of France. How is such a thing possible? Malicious rumors swarm that she is a witch.

Such talk offends me. After meeting her I can’t believe she’s anything but angelic. After knowing her for a day, I do believe she’s been contacted by something otherworldly, perhaps even Odin or Thor. I trust her. Moreover, I am in want of her.

I dare not speak my feelings. Despite the danger, I join the French army to just to stay close to her.

In the course of service I’m positioned in the artillery, where I bear witness to the latest modern cannon designs that are arming the French with the most powerful weapons ever known.

Then darkness buries me. The magical Jeanne Darc is captured by the enemy in 1431. Captured, and burned as witch. I watch helplessly from afar.

I’m devastated. I never knew what to believe, if Jeanne had been a witch or in touch with God Himself?

To distract my broken heart I apply to Henry of Ceuta for admission to work at his navigation center in Sagres, Portugal. It’s known as the most advanced place in the world for ship building, training, testing, and hiring of sailors for carefully planned expeditions to Africa.

I work in the docks and shipyards learning the latest techniques of the sea, helping send the Portuguese to discover the Azores, thus introducing black slavery to Portuguese sailors brought to Lisbon. To the Portuguese these blacks are regarded as primitive animals that enslave their own anyway.

In 1436, my son Yaroslav Ericsson is born. Two years later I move my family so that I can study under Ulugh Beg in Samarkand.

Beg has built the best astronomical observatory of all time, where he’s making discoveries completely unknown to the western world! I help him learn of spots on the Sun, craters on the Moon, phases of Venus, and of Jupiter’s four large moons.

In 1448, a German scholar with advanced ideas named Nicholas of Cusa is made a Cardinal. He believes that Earth turns on its axis; that Earth moves around the Sun; that space is infinite; that stars are other suns; that stars have planets orbiting them; and that plants draw sustenance from air; that the pulse is a diagnostic device; and that concave lenses can improve vision for near-sighted people.

When I learn of Nicholas I yearn to share astronomical notes with the powerful intellectual. I offer myself as a liaison between Ulugh Beg and Nicholas, and so am introduced to Nicholas.

But in 1449 Ulugh Beg, grandson of Tamerlane and ruler of Samarkand, is assassinated by his own son.

Ulugh’s observatory dies with him. Discouraged by assassination, politics, war and economic trickery, I, now thirty-four, depart Europe for home to Greenland.

Once there I settle back in and become the stealthiest, most cunning and deadliest hunter of mountain reindeer and snow bear the Norsemen have ever known.

When that miracle season is over in 1450, I propose a radical departure for those who will one day be known as the Red Vikings.

I tell my fellow Greenlanders…

“We must free ourselves from this world’s fools. Fools everywhere posture for kingdoms and lordships. These crowned buffoons are simple idiots arguing over incestuous relationships costing thousands of good men their lives and limbs.

“And for what, glory? Wealth? Vanity? Odin has sent a plague upon all who’ve surrendered their faith in Asgard Eternal. It was our ancestors who taught them such fear that now they dissolve and cannibalize each other.

“Have you listened to the tales of Ragnar? This world is full of ripe knowledge un-plucked by warring brains. Were such riches of the brain gathered for advantage by one smart company, such as ours –the world would look at us in wonder! Yet more importantly, the fools would never be able to harm us again.

“With the new tools coming to their disposal, they will be here, upon us, soon. We must be clever. We must be stealthy. We must be smart.”

     With booty being gained and well organized over the next thirty years, the last Vikings are determined to make our stand even further inside Greenland.

Seeing that our ways must change, we Vikings learn the art of espionage and gather information from our prey to be used to our own advantage.

While Viking spies steal artifacts and ideas from around the planet, amassing a new level of consolidated knowledge, we who stay in Greenland progress in our exploration of our new land’s extensive network of caves. These vast hollows are where I and my followers establish the modern world’s earliest high-tech civilization.

Between 1450 and 1480 I deploy Viking spy missions around the world to bring scientific and technological knowledge back to Greenland in all forms.

During this critical thirty years an assimilation of information propels our isolated group ahead of the rest of civilization.

In accordance, during this time an Age of Ice makes a short, small but chilling Ice Age encore to discourage those who would threaten its Nordic offspring from any direction.

     The Vikings are never seen again, believed by all to be swallowed by the glacial storm.

Before I pass to another Earth in my sleep as a comfortable, enlightened and entertained old man in 1480, I see the discovery or invention of hydrogen, uranium, steam engines, photography, electricity, radio waves, oil, motion pictures, x-rays, combustion engines, radioactivity and airplanes, achievements that won’t be known to the rest of humanity for another four hundred years.

It is not known if I was admitted to Valhalla.

