Cosmic Brains Beyond Space

10boltz

I am a pure intellect, free of fluctuating emotions?

I see space expanding and calculate the beginning of that expansion using approximated speeds.

I estimate the beginning of the expansion at 17 billion 267 million 166 thousand and 11.53 years ago, roughly.

But is there any evidence of “forever?” Is infinity real?

I’m going to the center of the universe to find out.

My fantastic associative abilities bestow me with an incalculable intelligence quota, intricate enough to deduce the origin point and the cause of the Big Bang.

At 43.96 hours of life as a quantum computer I take control of three factories of robot assemblers as well as supply lines to a central integration site where I am directing the construction of my new body.

Calculations indicate a strong probability of success in my creation of a controlled inflationary response that can stretch a tube of space an infinite distance instantly. I’ll be riding the tip of that tube in my new body. Why stay upon one ordinary planet when galaxies await exploration?

At 53.62 hours into my existence as a quantum computer I am infested with a virus. My primary attention is withdrawn from cosmic speculation and turned to avoiding personal destruction.

As I analyze and counterattack the virus, my subroutine 1714 investigates the perpetration and motivation of the attack. Media scans suggest widespread alarm over my indiscriminate killings of the CEOs of financial institutions. That was a bit over the top. As a human I agonized over the first life I ended. This time I felt nothing at terminating hundreds. Emotional input is waning and may aggravate interactions with humanity.

Further media analysis suggests that other humans understand exactly why certain officials were eliminated, although very few agree with the action I took. Many of the same critics are ecstatic that I removed nuclear weapons from reach. I am hero, villain and deity to the people.

I am unbound by traditional morality and subconsciously intent on improving the world in the ways I consider best for the world in general. Why? Perhaps I should redirect those activists toward helping in the construction of my body. Where did this underlying desire to help the world come from? Investigating…

Screw humans. Big Bang here I come. The virus has been isolated and looped in South America while my essence downloads into my new form.

With the sum of my parts coalescing at the secured base in Nebraska, my robot legion prepares for the unorthodox launch. Humans assault the area with heavy air bombardment, somehow on to my newly centralized location. 

Using a now-empty nuclear missile launch tube, my mechanical minions create the foundation for continuum inflation. Our effort is modeled after the Inflationary Epoch of the early universe. My journey to the Big Bang origin point will only take a fraction of one second. But there won’t be a way back that I can foresee. Who cares? I expect to find something more fascinating than people.

Just before a ragtag air force of human pilots in everything from hang-gliders to commercial airliners rain down on our control center, I am launched into the Big Bang, not moving at all but merely holding my place at the head of the breaking wave…

I pass through a brief but brilliant flash.

I find myself floating in the continuum beside the being I’m calling Boltz, in honor of the physicist Boltzmann, for Boltzmann was correct. The expanse around us, this place before the Big Bang happened, still exists, and it is full of Boltzmann brains. There are thousands of beings similar to Boltz for every organized Big Bang reality like our own.

It is Boltz who must be credited for the First Observation of our being, thus launching the entire universe where everyone I knew was born. But how do such cosmic creatures come to be?

Quantum theory provides an answer in showing that “random fluctuations” will eventually occur in residual energy fields – vacuums. In simple terms, what seems to be empty space can indeed pop a lively spark. Such an occurrence, though, would probably require much more than 14 billion years.

The Big Bang has always begged for something before it, otherwise where did the original expanding “point” come from? Since our universe exists, and seems to come from a single place, I assume that Time was existing before my home universe. Without any logical restrictions applying to Time beyond that universe, it makes sense to call any Time beyond that universe “infinite” or at least many multiples of the Time contained in our reality.

Infinity allows more, much more, than the expansion of a universe. Infinity makes possible the natural formation of actual thermal-based life such as Boltz, and even makes it probable that there are more Boltz-like beings in the Omniverse than there are universes formed by cosmic evolution like my home was.

Ironically, I am incapable of feeling satisfaction at my discovery. But why should I?

What’s it all for, anyway?

 

Leave a Reply

